Yamamoto Headshot 2018.jpg

Nicholas /Niko/ Yamamoto (b. 1995) is a composer of acoustic and electroacoustic music. His music is largely concerned with the abstraction and juxtaposition of aural and physical gesture to augment perceived image, subject, and environment. Recent compositions explore functional aspects of feedback to guide development and deterioration.

Niko was recently awarded the Emerging Composer Fellowship from the Houston-based contemporary music organization, Musiqa. He is a graduate student in Composition and Brown Foundation Fellow in the Michael P. Hammond Preparatory Program at the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University, and is a graduate of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He is an instructor for the Young Children's Division, leading experiential music instruction actively engaged with Dalcroze philosophy. He has received the Delores Dlesk Scholarship and the Theodore Presser Undergraduate Scholar Award (2016) from the University of Illinois.

Collaborations with Ecce, Sanghoon Kim (ajaeng), Moody Center for the Arts, and James Turrell’s Twilight Epiphany Skyspace. Workshops with Arditti Quartet (2019), Nunc (with Miranda Cuckson) (2018). He has been a member of the Rice University Electro-Acoustic Music Labs (REMLabs) and the Experimental Music Studios (EMS) at the University of Illinois.

Composition studies with Erin Gee, Kurt Stallmann, and Anthony Brandt, orchestration with Pierre Jalbert and Reynold Tharp. Masterclasses with Hans Tutschku and Melinda Wagner. Further studies in electroacoustic music techniques with Scott A. Wyatt.


Rice University
M.Mus in Composition, May 2019
Brown Fellow, Michael P. Hammond Preparatory Program
Member of the Rice Electroacoustic Music Labs (REMLabs)

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
B.Mus in Composition-Theory, May 2017
Applied studies in Electroacoustic Music, Bassoon Performance, Wind Band Conducting, and Music Education.
Former Director of Musicals & Drama of the Illini Union Board.
Member of the Experimental Music Studios (EMS) & School of Music Student Advisory Board.


Florida State University Biennial Festival for New Music 2019
Performance of Fixed Objects on a Moving Plane (2017) for quadraphonic fixed media.

Etchings Festival 2018
Workshop/Premiere of transduction studies (2018).
Teaching Faculty: Philippe Hurel, Erin Gee, Martin Brody, John Aylward. With East Coast Contemporary Ensemble.


Emerging Composer Fellowship (2018)
Musiqa (Houston, TX)

Delores Dlesk Scholarship (2017)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Theodore Presser Award (2016)
School of Music, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Division Achievement Award for Composition/Theory (2014)
School of Music, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign